Dinner Tonight!

Got domestic tonight! Dinner of Baked Chicken with Sauteed Onion and Bellpepper, Sauteed Spinach and Onion, Blackeye Peas, Cornbread and for dessert – which I NEVER have – Apple Turnovers.

Baked Chicken

The chicken was seasoned with salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder and butter. Placed in a baking pan.  I carmelized the onion and bellpepper then put it over the chicken.  Put the pan uncovered in the oven on 350 degrees to bake.  Once browned, I added chicken stock to the roux and let it cook a little more.  Most of the time I will cover the pan tightly with foil to ensure the chicken gets infused with flavors and tenderize.

Sauteed Spinach

I didn’t have fresh spinach in the house, so I used frozen.  I began by carmelizing a whole onion chopped, adding the frozen spinach with butter and pepper.  Saute until tender.

Blackeye Peas

Sorry..I normally make them from scratch, but since its a weeknight, I used Glory canned Blackeye peas.  I’m very ticky about my food, but I have to say Glory is an incredible brand for their soul food products.  Try it when you don’t want to take the time.

Cornbread

Again, I normally make it from scratch, but appreciate the box mixes when I don’t want to take the time.  When in a hurry, I reach for Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix, but I add additional cornmeal to ensure its a more true cornbread rather than cake like. That’s how my husband prefers it!

BTW, Jiffy has a FREE recipe book.  Get your copy HERE

Apple Turnovers

I normally don’t do desserts, but I had a few apples that were getting soft, so I wanted to use them rather than throw them out.  I peeled, cored and seeded the apples, chopped them up, along with some chopped walnuts.  I had a can of biscuits in the refrigerator and broke them down (one biscuit I split in half).  Once halfed, I spread some butter on each, sprinked a cinnamon/sugar mixture on it, then put a teaspoon of the apple/nut mixture inside and brought the biscuit side over and pressed it closed.  Afterwards, I placed on a buttered baking sheet, sprinkled some of the cinnamon mixture over it, along with a pat of butter.

This went in the over at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. The house smells amazing and the Turnovers came out bubbling.  I’m sure my husband will have some along with ice cream when he gets in.

13442380_1194804400539429_1653655472984768322_n

Just wanted to share what we’re having for dinner tonight.  Bon Appetit!

 

Leave a Reply

